31st Board of Representatives City of Stamford

President JEFF CURTIS Clerk of the Board MEGAN COTTRELL Majority Leader NINA SHERWOOD Minority Leader MARY L. FEDELI

ACTION REPORT OF SPECIAL MEETING

President Curtis called the meeting to order at 8:01 p.m.

President Curtis read the call of the meeting:

I, Jeff Curtis, President of the 31st Board of Representatives of the City of Stamford, Connecticut, and pursuant to Section C2-10-4 of the Stamford Charter, hereby call a Special Meeting of said Board of Representatives at the following time and place:

Wednesday, March 22, 2023

8:00 p.m.

by computer, tablet, or smartphone at:

<u>https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86872525685</u> or <u>www.zoom.com</u> – Webinar ID - 868 7252 5685 or by phone 1-646-558-8656 – Webinar ID - 868 7252 5685.

to consider and act upon the following:

 <u>RESOLUTION</u> Against White Supremacy, Bigotry, and Racism. 03/17/2023 – Submitted by the 31st Board of Representatives

AGENDA

INVOCATION:

Delivered by President Curtis.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG: 164 Led by President Curtis.

<u>ROLL CALL</u>: Conducted by Clerk Cottrell. There were 33 members present and 7 members absent or excused. (Reps. Adams, Baxter, Berns, Bewkes, Boeger, Campbell, Coleman, Cottrell, Curtis, de la Cruz, Garst, Gilbride, Goldberg, Grunberger, Ley, Jacobson, Matheny, Mays, Morson, Nabel, Patterson, Pavia, Pierre-Louis, Pollack, Roqueta, Sandford, Shinn, Shaw, Sherwood, Summerville, Tomas, Walston, and Watkins were present; Reps. Fedeli, Figueroa, Jean-Louis, Moore, Miller, Saftic and Stella were excused; Reps. Figueroa and Jean-Louis joined immediately after roll call, for a total of 35 members present and 5 members absent or excused.

PRESENTATION: Reps. Jacobson and Pollack

1.<u>RESOLUTION</u> Against White Supremacy, Bigotry, and Racism 03/17/2023 – Submitted by the 31st Board of Representatives

A motion to approve the resolution was made and seconded.

A motion to replace the language of the resolution with the <u>revised language</u> submitted on March 22, 2023, was made, seconded and approved by a roll call vote of 35-0-0. (Reps. Adams, Baxter, Berns, Bewkes, Boeger, Campbell, Coleman, Cottrell, Curtis, de la Cruz, Figueroa, Garst, Gilbride, Goldberg, Grunberger, Ley, Jacobson, Jean-Louis, Matheny, Mays, Morson, Nabel, Patterson, Pavia, Pierre-Louis, Pollack, Roqueta, Sandford, Shinn, Shaw, Sherwood, Summerville, Tomas, Walston, and Watkins in favor)

A motion to approve the resolution, as amended with the replaced language, was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 35-0-0. (Reps. Adams, Baxter, Berns, Bewkes, Boeger, Campbell, Coleman, Cottrell, Curtis, de la Cruz, Figueroa, Garst, Gilbride, Goldberg, Grunberger, Ley, Jacobson, Jean-Louis, Matheny, Mays, Morson, Nabel, Patterson, Pavia, Pierre-Louis, Pollack, Roqueta, Sandford, Shinn, Shaw, Sherwood, Summerville, Tomas, Walston, and Watkins in favor)

ADJOURNMENT:

President Curtis adjourned the meeting at 8:20 p.m.

This meeting is on video.