

Appointments Committee -**Board of Representatives**

Annie M. Summerville, Co-Chair Anabel Figueroa, Co=Chair

Committee Report

Monday, December 28, 2015 Date:

Time: 6:30 p.m.

Democratic Caucus Room, 4th Floor, Government Center, 888 Place:

Washington Boulevard

The Appointments Committee met as indicated above. In attendance were Co-Chair Summerville, Co-Chair Figueroa and Committee Member Reps. Caterbone, Cerasoli, de la Cruz, Franzetti, McGarry, Patterson and Savage. Also present were Reps. Coppola, Mahoney, Quinones, Ryan, Silver, Watkins and Zelinsky; Dana Lee, Law Department; Trevor Roach, Acting Fire Chief; Martin Levine; William Krasnor, Maureen Boylan, Randy Dinter, Peter Nanos, Peter Quigley, Gary Silberberg and several other members of the public.

Co-Chair Summerville called the meeting to order at 6:38 p.m.

Item No. **Description** Committee Action

¹A motion to suspend the rules to take up Item No. A29.116 was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 6-3-0 (Reps. Caterbone, Cerasoli, de la Cruz, Franzetti, McGarry and Savage in favor; Reps. Summerville, Figueroa and Patterson opposed).

The Committee took a brief recess from 6:42 p.m. until 6:45 p.m.

6. A29.116 **Zoning Board** Held 5-2-2

Joanna M. Gwozdziowski (D) Repl. Michelson(R)

Stamford, CT 06902 Term Expires: 12/1/2018

11/05/2015-Submitted by Mayor David R. Martin

²Representative McGarry made a motion to "hold this item for at least a month or until the Zoning Board comes to a decision on the pending application before them on BLT." The motion was seconded and approved by a vote of 5-2-2 (Reps. Caterbone, Cerasoli, de la Cruz, McGarry and Savage in favor; Reps. Summerville and Figueroa opposed; Reps Franzetti and Patterson abstaining).

² Video Part 2 Time Stamp 00:00:15

¹ Video Part 1 Time Stamp 00:03:00

Trevor Roach

Term Expires: 11/30/2017

11/17/2015-Submited by Mayor Martin

A motion to approve this appointment was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 9-0-0 (Reps. Summerville, Figueroa, Caterbone, Cerasoli, de la Cruz, Franzetti, McGarry, Patterson and Savage in favor).

Without objection, the Committee next took up Item No. A29.130.

⁵8. A29.130 **Personnel Commission**

⁶Approved 9-0-0

Peter C. Nanos (D) Stamford, CT 06902 Term Expires: 12/1/2017

12/09/2015-Submitted by Mayor David R. Martin

Reappointment

A motion to approve this appointment was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 9-0-0 (Reps. Summerville, Figueroa, Caterbone, Cerasoli, de la Cruz, Franzetti, McGarry, Patterson and Savage in favor).

⁷Committee members discussed how the vote for the Board of Finance vacancy should be taken. A motion to vote for each candidate for the Board of Finance position individually was made, seconded and failed by a vote of 4-5-0 (Reps. de la Cruz, Franzetti, McGarry and Savage in favor; Reps. Summerville, Figueroa, Caterbone, Cerasoli and Patterson opposed).

A motion to vote for all 3 candidates for the Board of Finance at one time, with each member voting for 1 candidate, was made, seconded and passed by a vote of 7-1-1 (Reps. Summerville, Figueroa, Caterbone, Cerasoli, de la Cruz, McGarry and Patterson in favor; Rep. Franzetti opposed and Rep. Savage abstaining).

⁸ 2. A29.115	Board of Finance Dennis Mahoney (R) Repl. Vacant/Bosak Stamford, CT Term Expires: 11/30/2017 11/19/2015-Submitted by Rep. Fedeli	Committee Recommended Shelley Michelson 3-2-4
⁹ 3. A29.127	Board of Finance Shelley Michelson (R) Repl. Vacant/Bosak Stamford, CT 06905 Term Expires: 11/30/2017 11/23/2015-Submitted by Rep. Franzetti	Committee Recommended Shelley Michelson 3-2-4

³ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 00:21:50 - Interview

⁴ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 02:23:38 - Vote

⁵ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 00:36:44 - Interview

⁶ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 03:15:08 - Vote

⁷ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 02:23:57 – Discussion and Vote

⁸ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 00:39:24 - Interview

⁹ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 00:59:00 - Interview

¹⁰4. A29.128 **Board of Finance**

Christina Dellacamera (R) Stamford, CT 06902

Term Expires: 11/30/2017

12/09/2015-Submitted by Rep. Franzetti

Repl. Vacant/Bosak Recommended Shelley

Michelson 3-2-4

A vote for the 3 Board of Finance candidates was held, with Ms. Michelson receiving 3 votes, Mr. Mahoney receiving 2 votes, and 4 abstentions (Reps. de la Cruz, Franzetti and Patterson for Ms. Michelson; Reps. Caterbone and McGarry for Mr. Mahoney and Reps. Summerville, Figueroa, Cerasoli and Savage abstaining.)

¹¹5. A29.136 **Board of Education**

¹²Approved 9-0-0

Angelica Gorrio Repl. Wade (D)

Stamford, CT

Term Expires: 11/30/2017

12/14/2015-Submitted by Rep. Mitchell

A motion to approve this appointment was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 9-0-0 (Reps. Summerville, Figueroa, Caterbone, Cerasoli, de la Cruz, Franzetti, McGarry, Patterson and Savage in favor).

¹³7. A29.129 Environmental Protection Board

¹⁴Approved 9-0-0

Louis P. Levine (R) Reappointment

Stamford, CT 06907 Term Expires: 12/1/2018

12/09/2015-Submitted by Mayor David R. Martin

A motion to approve this appointment was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 9-0-0 (Reps. Summerville, Figueroa, Caterbone, Cerasoli, de la Cruz, Franzetti, McGarry, Patterson and Savage in favor).

9. A29.131 Water Pollution Control Authority (WPCA) Held

Daniel E. Capano (U) Reappointment

Stamford, CT 06902 Term Expires: 12/1/2018

12/09/2015-Submitted by Mayor David R. Martin

This appointment was held without objection.

¹⁵10. A29.132 **Board of Ethics** ¹⁶Approved 9-0-0

Monica S. Smyth (D) Repl. Sanchez (U)

Stamford, CT 06902 Term Expires: 12/1/2017

12/09/2015-Submitted by Mayor David R. Martin

A motion to approve this appointment was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 9-0-0 (Reps. Summerville, Figueroa, Caterbone, Cerasoli, de la Cruz, Franzetti, McGarry, Patterson and Savage in favor).

¹⁰ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 01:12:35 - Interview

_

¹¹ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 01:27:31 - Interview

¹² Video Part 2 Time Stamp 03:11:53 - Vote

¹³ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 01:39:15 - Interview

¹⁴ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 03:14:49 - Vote

¹⁵ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 01:48:55 - Interview

¹⁶ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 03:15:38 - Vote

¹⁷11. A29.133 Environmental Protection Board

¹⁸Approved 9-0-0

Ashley A. Ley (D) Repl. Wayne (D)

Stamford, CT 06903 Term Expires: 12/1/2018

12/09/2015-Submitted by Mayor David R. Martin

A motion to approve this appointment was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 9-0-0 (Reps. Summerville, Figueroa, Caterbone, Cerasoli, de la Cruz, Franzetti, McGarry, Patterson and Savage in favor).

¹⁹12. A29.134 **Planning Board**

Failed 3-4-2

Jennifer B. Godzeno (D) Repl. Quick (R)

Stamford, CT 06906 Term Expires: 12/1/2018

12/09/2015-Submitted by Mayor David R. Martin

A motion to approve this appointment was made, seconded and failed by a vote of 3-4-2 (Reps. Figueroa, Patterson and Savage in favor; Reps. Caterbone, Cerasoli, Franzetti and McGarry opposed; Reps. Summerville and de la Cruz abstaining).

The meeting was adjourned 10:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Annie M. Summerville, Co-Chair

This meeting is available on video (Part 1 & Part 2)

20

¹⁷ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 01:59:40 - Interview

¹⁸ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 03:16:17- Vote

¹⁹ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 02:07:25 - Interview

²⁰ Video Part 2 Time Stamp 03:16:40 – Discussion & Vote