

Date: Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Time: 6:30 p.m.
Place: Democratic Caucus Room, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor, Government Center, 888 Washington Boulevard

The Appointments Committee met as indicated above. In attendance were Chair Summerville, Vice Chair Patterson, and Committee Member Reps. Figueroa, Kolenberg, Liebson, Matherne, McGarry and Pratt. Absent or excused was Rep. Pia. Also present were Reps. Adams, de la Cruz, DePina, Di Costanzo, Fedeli, Giordano, Jacobson, Lee, McMullen, Michelson, Miller, Moore, Nabel, Roqueta, Sherwood, Spadaccini, Stella, Wallace, Watkins and Zelinsky; Mayor Martin, Amy Livolsi, Assistant Corporation Counsel; Michael Handler, Director of Administration, Michael Pollard, Chief of Staff; Ted Jankowski, Director of Public Safety, Health and Welfare; Charlotte Lansing, PERF; Constance Hubbard, Catalina Horak and Jack Bryant, Search Committee members; and approximately 100 members of the public.

Chair Summerville called the meeting to order at 6:45 p.m.

Item No.	Description		Committee Action
<sup>1</sup> 1. A30.069	Zoning Board (Alternate) Gerald Bosak (R) Repl. V Stamford, CT 06902 Term Expires: 12/1/2019 4/5/2019 – Submitted by Mayor Marti 05/13/19 – Held at Steering	2	Held 8-0-0

A motion to hold Item No. 1 was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 8-0-0. (Reps. Summerville, Patterson, Figueroa, Kolenberg, Liebson, Matherne, McGarry and Pratt in favor).

<sup>2</sup> 2. A30.070	Zoning Board		<sup>3</sup> Approved 4-1-
	Roger Quick (R)	Repl. Mills	2
	Stamford, CT 06903		
	Term Expires: 12/1/20	19	
	4/5/2019 – Submitted by Mayor Martin		
	05/13/19 – Held at Ste	ering	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Committee discussion and vote Video Time Stamp 00:04:30

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Quick Interview Video Time Stamp 00:17:30

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Quick Vote Video Time Stamp

A motion to approve Item No. 2 was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 4-1-2. (Reps. Summerville, Patterson, Figueroa and Liebson in favor; Rep. Kolenberg opposed; Reps. Matherne, McGarry abstaining).

3. A30.074	Social Services Commission		<sup>4</sup> Approved 8-0-
	Ellen M. Petersen (D) Stamford, CT 06907 Term Expires: 12/1/2020 5/6/2019 - Submitted by I 05/28/19 – Approved by 0 06/03/19 – Held by Full	Mayor Martin Committee 6-0-0	0

A motion to approve Item No. 3 was made, seconded and approved by a vote of 8-0-0. (Reps. Summerville, Patterson, Figueroa, Kolenberg, Liebson, Matherne, McGarry and Pratt in favor).

4. A30.077	REVIEW; Update on Police Chief Search. 06/05/19 – Submitted by Reps. Sherwood, Stella and Pratt	Report Made
⁵5. A30.076	Stamford Chief of Police (Chris Murtha) 06/05/19 – Submitted by Mayor Martin	<sup>6</sup> Failed 1-6-1

The Committee considered Item Nos. 4 and 5 together.

The Committee, other Board members, the Candidate, and the invited guests discussed the search process. The discussion was quite extensive and can be viewed <u>here</u> beginning at time 00:34:36.

Ms. Livolsi explained that the search process can be discussed but not the actual deliberations of the Search Committee. The Search Committee members are subject to non-disclosure agreements. The use of such agreements is standard practice for executive search committees and has been the long-standing practice of the City. The names of recruits are kept confidential.

Items discussed included, in part:

- the vetting process followed, including interviewing 17 people above and below the candidate in rank, members of the community and hiring an independent 3<sup>rd</sup> party investigator
- the conduct of public meetings by PERF
- The selection of the selection committee
- The choice of PERF as a consultant for the selection committee
- The development by PERF of a list of qualities for a new police chief
- The direction given by the Mayor to the committee to provide him with one name as a recommendation; so the committee did not use stacked ranking
- The criteria used by the committee were not weighted
- The cost of the search

A motion to approve Item No. 5 was made, seconded and failed by a vote of 1-6-1 (Rep. Patterson in favor; Reps. Figueroa, Kolenberg, Liebson, Matherne, McGarry and Pratt opposed; Rep. Summerville abstaining).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Petersen Vote Video Time Stamp 00:31:35

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Murtha interview and Review of Process 00:34:05

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Murtha Vote Video Time Stamp 04:40:36

Chair Summerville adjourned the meeting at 11:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Annie Summerville, Chair

This meeting is on video