31st Board of Representatives City of Stamford

President JEFF CURTIS Clerk of the Board MEGAN COTTRELL Majority Leader NINA SHERWOOD Minority Leader MARY L. FEDELI

RESOLUTION NO. 4368 RESOLUTION TO PLEDGE TO TREAT OTHERS WITH DIGNITY

WHEREAS, the Stamford Board of Representatives is the legislative body of the City of Stamford; and

WHEREAS, in order for the public to have faith in the Board of Representatives as an institution, we, as elected officials must conduct ourselves in a dignified and professional manner; and

WHEREAS, we, as Stamfordians, and as elected officials of the city, pledge to discuss issues based on their merits, and not to engage in character attacks upon our fellow Board members; and

WHEREAS, we pledge to treat everyone with respect, regardless of their gender identity, sexual orientation, religious background, race, ethnicity, immigration status, country of origin, level of educational attainment, social class, or disability status; and

WHEREAS, we, as Americans, who know and love our country, are convinced that there is no America without democracy, no democracy without healthy debate, and no healthy debate without dignity;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the 31st Board of Representatives, that we pledge to do more to treat others with dignity, and not with contempt, both in our Board meetings and in our public life outside of the Board, in our actions, and in our spoken and written words.

This resolution was approved via roll call vote at the regular monthly meeting of the 31st Board of Representatives held on April 7, 2025

Jeff Curtis, President 31st Board of Representatives

Mégan Cottrell, Clerk 31st Board of Representatives

cc: Mayor Caroline Simmons Thomas Cassone, Esq., Law Department Lyda Ruijter, Town & City Clerk Elda Sinani, Director of OPM Benjamin Barnes, Director of Administration Matthew Quiñones, Director of Operations Resolution No. 4368 April 7, 2025 Page 2

> Bridget Fox, Chief of Staff Leah Kagen, Director of Economic Development Lou DeRubeis, Director of Public Safety, Health & Welfare Anita Carpenter, Grants Officer Frank Petise, Transportation Bureau Chief

> > 2

1