

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE City of Stamford

Thu. Sept. 12, 2019

Contacts: Gary H. Stone 203.323.8000 Richard W. Redniss 203.327.0500

Nominations Open for 2019 City of Stamford Citizen of the Year

STAMFORD, Conn. — Mayor David Martin and the Stamford community are happy to announce nominations are now being accepted for 2019's City of Stamford Citizen of the Year.

"This award gives Stamford the opportunity to reflect on the men and women who makeup our community and acknowledge those who have been extraordinary contributors to the community we love and cherish," said Mayor David Martin.

Citizen of the Year is awarded annually to a resident of the City who has contributed to the Stamford community. This year's selection committee includes six members, three of whom are past recipients of the award:

- Richard W. Redniss, Selection Committee Chair and 2016 Citizen of the Year;
- Dudley N. Williams, 2017 Citizen of the Year;
- Dannel P. Malloy, 2018 Citizen of the Year;
- Steve Fischer, Commander of Jewish War Veterans Post 142;
- Emily M. Gordon, Member-at-Large; and
- Patricia Rattray, Member-at-Large.

"Honoring veterans, high school seniors who have a demonstrated a deep commitment to our community, along with our City's Citizen of the Year, affords our community an annual opportunity to celebrate the dedication and achievements of these phenomenal individuals," said Richard W. Redniss. "Each year we look forward to learning more about all of the COTY nominees. Then we make the difficult decision of choosing just one who makes us proud to be part of this community."

The committee's criteria for selecting the award recipient has remained the same since the founding of the award in 1945. The chosen nominee shall:

- Demonstrate a belief in interfaith harmony
- Possess the highest standards of responsibility in civic life

- Help in the promotion of projects for the public welfare
- Has personally worked with distinction to benefit Stamford on a community-wide basis

"I encourage our community to take a moment and reflect on your fellow residents who have made a difference in your life and Stamford's community," said Mayor Martin. "Take the time to nominate the special men and women who consistently contribute to making Stamford the exceptional and accepting community that it is."

Nominations must include <u>a bullet point summary</u> of the nominee's background supporting the criteria listed above. Nominations can be filled out at stamfordcoty.org, emailed to <u>StamfordCitizen@aol.com</u> or mailed to:

Nominations Committee 2019 City of Stamford Citizen of the Year 22 First Street Stamford, CT 06905

All nominations must be received by Monday, November 4, 2019.

Citizen of the Year is an annual award that has been given to one resident of Stamford every year since 1945. The award was founded by Fred Robbins, a war veteran of World War I and World War II — after he settled in Stamford and became involved in community affairs. Robbins worked with Mayor Webster Givens to establish the Citizen of the Year award. Mayor Givens appointed Post 142 of the Jewish War Veterans of the United States to be the sponsoring organization for the award. Post 142 has sponsored the award on behalf of the City for 75 years and in that time the award has honored more than 70 men and women who have served the Stamford Community.

## Prior City of Stamford Citizens of the Year:

1945	Father John Kelley	1983	Julius M. Wilensky
1946	C. Russell Waterbury	1984	Joseph F. Fahey
1947	Rabbi David W. Pearlman	1985	Sylvia Rosenfield
1948	Rev. Lloyd F. Worley	1986	Frank D. Rich, Jr.
1949	Walter H. Wheeler, Jr.	1987	S. Beatrice Foreman
1950	Benjamin Bogin	1988	Norman T. Woodbury
1951	Sarah F. Smith	1989	Jane F. Norgren
1952	Norris E. Pierson	1990	John T. D. Rich
1953	Gibbs Lyons	1990	Elizabeth P. Rich
1954	Jean Ware Hoyt	1991	Lynne R. Laitman
1955	Harold E. Rider	1992	Charles A. Guinta
1956	Pat Marshall	1993	Charles C. Judd
1957	Harry Rosenbaum	1993	Jane M. Judd
1958	Joseph E. Morrow	1994	John A. Ball
1959	Rev. Donald F. Campbell	1995	Michael J. Cacace
1960	J. Walter Kennedy	1996	George B. Harvey
1961	Walter Thayer	1998	Adele Gordon
1962	Thomas C. Mayers	1999	Polly O'Brien
1963	T. Carter Dodd	2000	Len Miller
1964	Rev. Russell McGown	2001	Sam Cingari
1965	Doris Kirshbaum	2002	Rev. Winton M. Hill III
1966	John F. Cameron	2003	Marc Lyons, Jr.
1967	Herbert B. Kohn	2004	Rick Robustelli
1968	Dr. Peter Goldmark	2005	Sandy Goldstein
1969	Thomas J. Feeney	2006	Al Sanseverino
1970	Rev. Cyrill S. Peters	2007	June Rosenthal
1971	Dr. Angelo Mastrangelo	2008	Richard E. Taber
1972	John O. Nicklis	2009	Juanita T. James
1973	Charles A. Ukkerd	2010	Bobby Valentine
1974	Alphonsus J. Donahue, Jr.	2011	Arthur Selkowitz
1975	Louis Lotstein	2012	Jami Sherwood
1976	Lillian Moran	2013	Timothy J. Curtin, Jr
1977	Tony P. Pia	2014	Gene Rubino
1978	Pobie Johnston	2015	Jay Sandak
1979	Edith Sherman	2015	Mary Sommer
1980	Fred T. Allen	2016	Richard W. Redniss
1981	Wayne L. Tyson	2017	Dudley N. Williams, Jr
1982	Christel Truglia	2018	Dannel P. Malloy

###