# MINUTES OF DECEMBER 1, 1971 ORGANIZATION MEETING 12th BOARD OF REPRESENTATIVES STAMFORD, CONNECTICUT

In compliance with Section 304.5 of the Charter of the City of Stamford, an Organization Meeting of the 12th Board of Representatives of the City of Stamford, Connecticut, was held on Wednesday, December 1, 1971, in the meeting room of the Board of Representatives, 2nd floor, Municipal Office Building, 429 Atlantic Street.

The meeting was called to order after a Caucus at 8.30 P.M. by Mayor Julius M. Wilensky.

INVOCATION was given by Rabbi Alex J. Goldman, Temple Beth El

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO FLAG: The Mayor led the Members in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

ROLL CALL was taken by Mrs. Farrell, Administrative Assistant. All Members were present.

OATH OF OFFICE ADMINISTERED TO BOARD MEMBERS NOT SWORN IN AT THE INAUGURAL CEREMONIES EARLIER IN THE DAY:

MAYOR WILENSKY administered the Oath of Office to all Board Members who were not previously sworn in this morning at the Inaugural Ceremonies at the Rippowam High School.

#### APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY TELLERS:

MAYOR WILENSKY appointed two Temporary Tellers: JOHN ROOS (R) and MATTHEW ROSE (D).

#### ELECTION OF TEMPORARY CHAIRMAN:

MAYOR WILENSKY called for nominations for Temporary Chairman.

MR. ANTHONY D. TRUGLIA (D) was nominated for Temporary Chairman. (No seconder needed). There being no further nominations, the Mayor declared the nominations closed. CARRIED unanimously.

MR. TRUGLIA was thereupon declared the Temporary Chairman and assumed the Chair.

MAYOR WILENSKY said before he leaves he wished to congratulate all the members on their election and to pledge his complete support and to hope for theirs. He said his door is open any time to any Board Members, singly or in groups and if there is any clarification necessary at any time to please feel free to call on him, any member of his Cabinet or any City official. He said there are times when supplementary information may be required because so many matters are of a very complex nature, and he wished to assure the Members they stand ready to supply this information on call. He then thanked the Members and left the meeting. (applause)

#### Minutes of December 1, 1971

He said we can always withdraw it from the Secondary Committee if they don't have a report, but he thinks it belongs in the rules. HE MOVED for approval of the rule amendment. Seconded and CARRIED.

MR. RUSSELL MOVED to amend the rules under "COMMITTEES" on Page 4, Rule No. 9 line 5, where it now reads: "All Committee reports shall be in writing, that it shall also contain the names of the members present, he wished to add the words: ".... and absent" for the reason that he feels if you are to name the Members who are present that you should also add the names of the Members who did not attend the meeting.

This change in the rules was seconded and CARRIED.

MR. MORRIS said if it is agreeable to the membership that the membership of the Steering Committee should be changed from the former 15 members to 17 members.

A RECESS was called at this time to consider the suggestion made by Mr. Morris. The recess was declared over in five minutes and the Chairman announced that it has been agreed that the Steering Committee be increased from 15 to 17 members.

MR. TRUGLIA said a VOTE will now be taken on the suggested amendments to the Rules of Order. CARRIED unanimously. The Rules were adopted as amended.

# NOMINATION FOR PRESIDENT OF 12th BOARD OF REPRESENTATIVES:

MR. TRUGLIA declared the nominations open for the next President of the 12th Board.

MR. KNAPP (D) from the 14th District, offered the name of GEORGE V. CONNORS (D) 8th District in nomination for President. (No seconder necessary). CARRIED unanimously.

THE CHAIRMAN declared Mr. George Connors President of this 12th Board.

MR. CONNORS now took the Chair as President. He thanked the Members for the honor bestowed upon him this evening.

## APPOINTMENT OF PARLIAMENTARIAN:

MR. CONNORS appointed the former President of the 11th Board, CHARLES J. HEINZER, III, as Parliamentarian of the 12th Board.

A RECESS was called at this time in order to get the names of the Committees together. The recess being over, the President announced the appointment of the following:

#### ELECTION OF PERMANENT CLERK:

THE PRESIDENT called for nominations for permanent Clerk of the Board.

#### Minutes of December 1, 1971

# THE PRESIDENT ANNOUNCED THE FOLLOWING STANDING COMMITTEES:

#### APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (9)

- (D) Theodore J. Boccuzzi, Chairman
- (D) John Boccuzzi
- (D) George Ravallese
- (D) Armen Guroian
- (D) Frederick P. Lenz, Jr.
- (R) Daniel R. Russbach
- (R' Michael Tresser
- (R) Sidney M. Sherer
- (R) Barbara M. Forman

## LEGISLATIVE & RULES COMMITTEE (9)

- (D) Gerald M. Fox, Jr., Chairman
- (D) William D. Murphy
- (D) Frederick E. Miller
- (D) Peter J. Walsh
- (D) Warren M. Knapp
- (R) Edith Sherman
- (R) Richard J. Schade
- (R) George E. Russell
- (R) Charles J. Heinzer, III

#### PLANNING & ZONING COMMITTEE (5)

- (R) George Russell, Chairman
- (R) Michael Tresser
- (D) Armen Guroian
- (D) John Colasso
- (D) Joseph Morabito

#### HEALTH & PROTECTION COMMITTEE (7)

- (D) Matthew Rose, Chairman
- (D) Gerald J. Rybnick
- (D) Philip J. Gambino
- (D) Stephen E. Kelly
- (R) William H. Flanagan
- (R) Michael Tresser
- (R) Thomas A. Morris

# PARKS & RECREATION COMMITTEE (7)

- (D) Stephen E. Kelly, Chairman
- (D) Alfred E. Perillo
- (D) George Ravallese
- (D) Gerald J. Rybnick
- (R) Barbara M. Forman
- (R) William H. Flanagan
- (R) William P. Caporizzo

# Minutes of December 1, 1971

#### PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE (11)

- (D) Joseph Morabito, Chairman
- (D) Philip J. Gambino
- (D) Alfred E. Perillo
- (D) Frederick P. Lenz, Jr.
- (D) Peter J. Walsh
- (D) John Colasso
- (R) Charles J. Heinzer, III
- (R) James S. Iacovo
- (R) William H. Flanagan
- (R) William P. Caporizzo
- (R) Robert B. Exnicios

# EDUCATION, WELFARE & GOVERNMENT (5)

- (D) Frederick E. Miller, Chairman
- (D) Marilyn R. Laitman
- (D) Jeremiah Livingston
- (R) James S. Iacovo
- (R' Edith Sherman

# SEWER COMMITTEE (7)

- (D) John Colasso, Chairman
- (D) Warren M. Knapp
- (R) Bertram A. Friedman
- (R) Thomas A. Morris
- (D) Alfred Perillo
- (D) Matthew Rose
- (R) James P. Boyle

#### SPECIAL COMMITTEES

#### URBAN RENEWAL COMMITTEE (6)

- (R) John Roos, Chairman
- (R) Sidney M. Sherer
- (R) Robert B. Exnicios
- (D) William D. Murphy
- (D) Philip J. Gambino
- (D) Handy Dixon

#### SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON DRUG ABUSE (6)

- (R) Bertram A. Friedman, Chairman
- (D) Anthony D. Truglia
- (D) Gerald M. Fox, Jr.
- (D) Jeremiah Livingston
- (R) Thomas A. Morris
- (R) Vacancy

# PUBLIC HOUSING & GENERAL

- RELOCATION COMMITTEE (7)
- (D) Handy Dixon, Chairman
- (D) Matthew Rose
- (D) William D. Murphy
- (D) Jeremiah Livingston
- (R) John Roos
- (R) Richard J. Schade
- (R) William H. Flanagan

#### HOUSE COMMITTEE (4)

- (D) Gerald J. Rybnick, Chairman
- (D) Peter J. Walsh
- (R) Kim Varney
- (R) Daniel R. Russbach