## SENSE OF THE BOARD RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING THE STAMFORD ODYSSEY OF THE MIND MIXED MIDDLE SCHOOL TEAM ON PLACING SIXTH PLACE OUT OF 60 INTERNATIONAL TEAMS AT THE ODYSSEY OF THE MIND WORLD FINALS

**WHEREAS**, from May 25 through May 28, 2016, more than 800 teams from across the United States and 25 countries competed against others in their division at the Odyssey of the Mind World Finals, at Iowa State University; and

**WHEREAS**, the Odyssey of the Mind program has been offered to Stamford students for 10 years and

**WHEREAS,** this year 13 teams from Stamford, representing eight elementary schools, all five middle schools, and Stamford High School, participated in the 2016 State tournament,; and

WHEREAS, five Stamford teams advanced to the World competition, including teams representing Davenport Ridge Elementary School, Westover Elementary School, Mixed Middle Schools (Rippowam and Scofield), Scofield Magnet Middle School and Stamford High School; and

**WHEREAS,** the Mixed Middle School Team, comprised of students from Rippowam Middle School and Scofield Magnet Middle School, earned sixth place out of 60 International teams for their problem/division; and

**WHEREAS**, the Stamford Public Schools Odyssey of the Mind student's accomplishments were due to the hard work of the members of the Mixed Middle School Team and their coach Kim Kempton, and the support of the parents, the Rippowam Middle School and Scofield Magnet Middle School communities and the Stamford Youth Foundation.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the 29th Board of Representatives congratulates the Stamford Odyssey of the Mind Mixed Middle School team on their exemplary achievements at the 2016 Odyssey of the Mind World Finals.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that it congratulates all the members of the Stamford Odyssey of the Mind Mixed Middle School teams: Alba Alizoti, Annalise Fabricatore, Abby Guttman and Emily Sasser from Rippowam Middle School and Meredith Ford and Julia Kempton from Scofield Magnet Middle School

> Approved by the 29th Board of Representatives This 9th day of November, 2016

Randall M. Skigen, President

Annie M. Summerville, Clerk