## SENSE OF THE BOARD RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING THE WESTHILL HIGH SCHOOL VIKINGS ON WINNING THE FCIAC BOYS BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

**WHEREAS**, on March 3, 2016, the Westhill High School Vikings won the FCIAC boys basketball championship for the second consecutive year; and

**WHEREAS**, the team defeated the number 1 ranked Danbury High School Hatters, 72-61; and

**WHEREAS**, the team was additionally motivated by the medical issues of their head coach Howard White, which resulted in his spending most of the week before the game in the hospital and relinquishing the coaching of the game to assistant coach Roberto Nieves; and

**WHEREAS,** in order to reach the championship, the team had to defeat the top three seeds on the playoffs; and

**WHEREAS**, this victory was achieved because of the excellent coaching of head coach Howard White and Assistant Coaches Roberto Nieves, José Amor and Dwight Vaughn and the hard work of the team, as well as because of the support of the parents and the rest of the Westhill High School community.

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** by the 29<sup>th</sup> Board of Representatives that it congratulates the Westhill High School Vikings on winning the FCIAC Boys Basketball Championship; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that it congratulates all the Vikings players: Parish Rowell, Carl Gedeon, Jared Yaghoubian, Aaron Pettiford, Tarik Rivers, Tyrell Alexander, Lenold August, Tyler Lasicki, Hunter Semmel, Jacob Goldberg, Jake Dardis, Stanley Villard, Vashon Natteal, Nathanial Jefferson, J'ani Graham and Dreon Wash.

Approved by the 29" Board of Representatives This 2 <sup>nd</sup> day of May, 2016	
Randall M. Skigen, President	Annie M. Summerville, Clerk