## SENSE OF THE BOARD RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING REPRESENTATIVE GLORIA DEPINA ON RECEIVING THE 2017 FAMILY DAY DR. JOYCE YERWOOD COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD

**WHEREAS**, Representative Gloria DePina will be honored with the Dr. Joyce Yerwood Community Leadership Award at the 17<sup>th</sup> Annual Stamford Family Day on May 20, 2017; and

**WHEREAS**, the Family Day Community Leadership Awards are awarded in honor of the late Dr. Joyce Yerwood and Police Sergeant Martin Treadway to individuals who best exemplify the attributes of the late Dr. Yerwood and Sgt. Treadway, humanitarians who cared deeply about the health, safety, education and welfare of the people of Stamford and demonstrated this commitment by serving on various community boards and acting as positive role models to the people they served; and

**WHEREAS**, Representative Gloria DePina was nominated for the Dr. Joyce Yerwood Community Service Award because of her willingness to provide the citizens of Stamford with representation at the local and federal government levels on safe housing and public health awareness; and

WHEREAS, Representative Gloria DePina has served her community in numerous capacities; she has been a member of the Board of Representatives since December 1, 1989, serving as Deputy Majority Leader, Chair of the Public Safety & Health Committee and a Member of Steering and Personnel Committees, and a previous member of the Parks & Recreation Committee; she has also served on the board at Yerwood Center and was instrumental in the redevelopment of Jackie Robinson Park; she is a staff member of Representative Jim Himes' Stamford office; and advocates for residents who have little knowledge of housing standards to ensure that they are treated and represented fairly; and

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the 29th Board of Representatives thanks Representative Gloria DePina for her tireless work on behalf of the Stamford community and congratulates her on receiving the Dr. Joyce Yerwood Community Service Award.

> Approved by the 29<sup>th</sup> Board of Representatives this 1<sup>st</sup> day of May, 2017

Randall M. Skigen, President

Annie M. Summerville, Clerk