SENSE OF THE BOARD RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING STAMFORD HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS ON WINNING THE STUDENT SPACEFLIGHTS EXPERIMENTS PROGRAM

WHEREAS, the Student Spaceflights Experiments Program is a program of the National Center for Earth and Space Science Education ("NCESSE") which gives students around the world the opportunity to design and propose microgravity experiments aboard the International Space Station; and

WHEREAS, 18,300 students from 31 different communities across the United States, Canada and Brazil participated in SSEP Mission 12; and

WHEREAS, students of Stamford High School, under the direction of teacher Sue Dougherty, worked on their project at night at the Ferguson Library, since there is no lab period at Stamford High School and designed an experiment to determine the effect of microgravity on the rate of genetic mutation and reproduction of a common fungus, *Sordaira Fimicola*, as a tool to determine the viability of long term human habitation of space and the potential for extraterrestrial life; and

WHEREAS, as finalists, Stamford High School was one of 30 schools chosen out of 11, 000 applicants to participate in the NCESSE program to have their experiment run on the International Space Station beginning in June; and

WHEREAS, the Stamford High School Students will have the opportunity to present their research at the 7th Annual SSEP National Conference at the National Air and Space Museum in Washington, D.C this summer and have started a GoFundMe campaign in order to be able to participate; and

WHEREAS, the Stamford High School students' accomplishments were due to the hard work of the participants and their teacher Sue Dougherty, and the support of the parents, the Stamford High School community.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the 30th Board of Representatives congratulates Stamford High School students John Bolognino, Matthew Dattolo, Augustus Lewis Doricko, Vedant Gannu, Lalith Goli, Ryan Hoak, Grihith Manchanda, Jordan Ordonez, James Pease, Alejandro Ross, Adarsh Sushanth, Imtiaz Uddin, Patrick Zaleski on their exemplary achievements in the Student Spaceflights Experiments Program.

> Approved by the 30th Board of Representatives This 2nd day of April, 2018

Matthew Quinones, President

Susan Nabel, Clerk