SENSE OF THE BOARD RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING REPRESENTATIVE RAVEN MATHERNE ON RECEIVING A DOROTHY AWARD FROM THE NEW HAVEN PRIDE CENTER

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2021, Representative Raven Matherne was awarded a Dorothy Award by the New Haven Pride Center at its 18th Annual Dorothy Awards ceremony; and

WHEREAS, each year, the New Haven Pride Center honors members of the Connecticut LGBTQ+ community who are creating positive change for Connecticut LGBTQ+ community; and

WHEREAS, upon being elected to the 30th Board of Representatives, Representative Matherne became the first transgender elected lawmaker in the State of Connecticut; and

WHEREAS, Representative Matherne is Vice Chair of the Parks & Recreation Committee, currently serves as a member of the Public Safety & Health and Appointments Committee and was a member of the 30th Board Special Committee on Communications; and

WHEREAS, as a member of the Board of Representatives, Representative Matherne has sponsored numerous pieces of legislation, including a resolution in support of transgender student athletes; and

WHEREAS, Representative Matherne has engaged in numerous other civic and community activities, including formerly serving on the Triangle Community Center's Board of Directors, and volunteering at local events to bring attention to trans issues, and was a Grand Marshal at the first Middletown Pride parade; and

WHEREAS, at the Dorothy Awards ceremony, Representative Matherne encouraged attendees to run for public office and described the importance of the Pride Center as "a place that we can go back and shelter ourselves and rebuild our defenses, so that we can go back out and continue to fight this war against a society that is structured in such a way that every man, and every woman, and every person just generally believes that people like us are something less than human."

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the 30th Board of Representatives that it congratulates Representative Raven Matherne on being awarded a Dorothy Award by the New Haven Pride Center.

Approved by the 30th Board of Representatives this 5th day of April. 2021

Matthew Quinones, President	Susan Nabel, Clerk