SENSE OF THE BOARD RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING THE STAMFORD HIGH BOYS VARSITY SOCCER TEAM ON REACHING THE 2023 STATE FINALS

WHEREAS, on October 30, 2023, the Stamford High Boys Soccer Team defeated number 1 ranked Staples High School, reaching their first FCIAC finals in 26 years; and

WHEREAS, on November 15, 2023, the Stamford High Boys Soccer Team defeated Greenwich in the State FCIAC semifinals 3-0, reaching their first CIAC State Championship in 74 years; and

WHEREAS, the Black Knights ended their regular season with a record of 8-4-4, finishing on a four-game winning streak, outscoring their opponents 16-0, and earning the number 4 seed in the FCIAC tournament and the number 14 seed in the State tournament; and

WHEREAS, the Black Knights returned to the FCIAC finals for the first time since 1997 and the State finals for the first time since 1949, reaching the finals of both postseason tournaments for only the second time in the school's 150 year history; and

WHEREAS, the Black Knights lost 3-2 to Trumbull in the FCIAC final in overtime, but defeated No. 2-seed and defending champion Greenwich, 3-0 in the semifinals; and

WHEREAS, the team ultimately lost to Hall in the CIAC LL championship game 1-0 despite numerous attacks; and

WHEREAS, this extraordinary season was achieved because of the teamwork of all of the players, the excellent coaching by Mike Summa, Joey Summa, Raffaele Ruffo, and Ricardo Alvarado, and because of the support of managers Paulo Falduto, Catherine Rivera, and Yomara Rivera, of the parents and of the rest of the Stamford community.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the 31st Board of Representatives that it congratulates the Stamford High Boys Soccer Team on reaching both the FCIAC finals and the CIAC LL championship game; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that it congratulates all the Stamford Black Knight players: Alex Bochenek, Jeremy Bustos, Kevin Caffer, David Calle, Max Canepa, Andres Carmona, Jason Chien, Mike Daniele, Owen Fedeli, Jayden Freeman, Justin Fuchs, Andy Garcia, Mateusz Gazdzicki, Adrian Hernandez, Mustafa Husain, Joandry Lopez, Nico Manco, Elian Ochoa, Rory O'Halloran, Jared Relayze, Avi Shapiro, Zach Shapiro, Miller Smail, Nick Soldi, Felipe Stefanzuk, Tyler Szemplinski, Noel Vargas, Jacob Vellozzi, Cristian Vitti, and Marc Zampino.

> Approved by the 31st Board of Representatives this 2nd day of January, 2024

Jeff Curtis, President

Megan Cottrell, Clerk