31ST BOARD OF REPRESENTATIVES CITY OF STAMFORD

President
JEFF CURTIS
Clerk of the Board
MEGAN COTTRELL

Majority Leader
NINA SHERWOOD

Minority Leader
MARY L. FEDELI

DRAFT MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING

Chair Nina Sherwood called the meeting to order at 7:11 p.m.

Chair Sherwood read the call of the meeting: I, Jeff Curtis, President of the 31st Board of Representatives of the City of Stamford, Connecticut, and pursuant to Section C2-10-4 of the Stamford Charter, hereby call a Special Meeting of said Board of Representatives at the following time and place:

Thursday, May 15, 2025

7:00 p.m.

by computer, tablet or smartphone at:
 https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89806319961
or www.zoom.com – Webinar ID - 898 0631 9961

Or by phone 1-646-558-8656

Webinar ID - 898 0631 9961

to consider and act upon the following:

1. **F3**1.556

RESOLUTION; Approving an Additional Tax Rate to Provide Funds to a Reserve Fund for Capital Nonrecurring Expenditures to Support the Funding of Future Capital Projects Under CGS §7-361 As Recommended by the Board of Finance for Fiscal Year 2025-2026.

04/16/25 – Submitted by Board of Finance

AGENDA

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG: Led by Chair Nina Sherwood.

ROLL CALL: Conducted by Clerk of the Board Megan Cottrell.

There were 32 members present (online) and 8 member excused (Reps. Adams, Blank, Boeger, Campbell, Camporeale, Cottrell, de la Cruz, Fedeli, Figueroa, Goldberg, Graham, Grunberger, Kuczynski, Ley, Matheny, Mays, Moore, Morson, Patterson, Pavia, Pierre-Louis, Pollack, Roqueta, Saftic, Sherwood, Stella, Strain, Summerville, Walston, Watkins, Weinberg, and Williams were present; Reps. Baines, Berns, Curtis, Gilbride, Sandford, Shaw, Tomas and Vandervoort were absent/excused)

A quorum was declared.

Under Board rules 285, a motion to elect a chairperson to preside over the meeting was made and seconded. Rep. Sherwood opened the floor to nominations for a chairperson to preside over the balance of the meeting. Rep. de la Cruz nominated Rep. Sherwood to be the meeting chairperson. The nomination was moved and seconded (Rep. Patterson). There were no other nominations from the floor. Rep. Sherwood declared nominations closed. There was no discussion on the nomination.

The nomination was approved unanimously by voice vote of 31-0-1 with Rep. Sherwood abstaining.

Also present virtually were J.R. McMullen, Board of Finance; Ben Barnes, Director of Administration; Dr. Elda Sinani, Director, Office of Policy & Management (OPM); Carmen Hughes, Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and Lauren Meyer, Special Assistant to the Mayor.

COMMUNICATIONS: Red by Clerk of the Board Megan Cottrell

	II call.	ducted by	will be condu	meeting	at tonight's	All votes	1.
--	----------	-----------	---------------	---------	--------------	-----------	----

2.	If you need assistance	with Zoom you can call IT at	. Please do not				
	call other members of the Board or the Board office staff. If you are having						
	problems speaking or hearing with your computer, you can always access the						
	meeting through a telephone by dialing the phone number on the Agenda -						
	, and using the Webinar ID on the agenda:						
	text IT at	or text the Clerk at	to let us know you are				
	coming on, with the phone number you are using, and we will make sure you are						
	able to speak during the	e meeting.					

- 3. If you decide to leave the meeting, you must text the Clerk when you leave. If you need to leave the meeting for a short period, text the Clerk when you leave and return. Members who do not text the Clerk when they leave the meeting will be presumed to be present for all consent items.
- 4. If you do not respond during a roll call vote, your name will be called 2 more times after the conclusion of the vote. If you do not respond, you will be assumed to have left the meeting and your name will not be called on the next roll call vote.

<u>COMMITTEE/BUDGET PRESENTATION</u>: Chair Sherwood asked Minority Leader Fedeli to chair the meeting during the presentation so she could speak on the presentation. Sean Boeger, Co-Chair, Fiscal Committee, read the draft resolution approving the mill rates into the record.

Richard Freedman, Chair, Board of Finance was not available to present on Fund 57.

After the draft resolution was read, questions were asked (as there were no motions on the floor), which included:

• Was the \$5,000,000 capital reserve to Fund 57 (for capital nonrecurring expenditures to support the funding of future capital projects) and to adopt the mill rates to support the

capital reserve ever voted on, or was there simply a vote to approve the 2 sets of mill rates (one without the reserve calculated in, and one with the reserve amount calculated in)?

- What were the merits/uses of the \$5,000,000 (\$5M) capital reserve amount to Fund 57?
- Did the Board of Representatives check with Corporation Counsel to confirm if the numbers before them were properly voted on & transmitted to the Boad of Representatives by the Board of Finance per state law?
- Clarification on use of Fund 57 and amounts (amounts used, balances, allocations and interest on fund) was requested and responded to by Director Barnes and Dr. Sinani.

A secondary motion was attempted by Rep. de la Cruz, but per the parliamentarian's point of order, was not allowed in a Special Meeting until after the primary motion is made (per Connecticut state law).

A motion to approve Item 1 (F31.556) was made (Rep. Morson) and seconded (multiple), and discussion opened.

A motion to amend the resolution to add the language "The 31st Board of Representatives will not take action on the proposed allocation of an additional \$5 million to Fund 57 until the Board of Finance reconvenes and, by a clear majority vote, formally recommends approval of the \$5 million tax levy, consistent with its actions over the past few fiscal years." Was made (Sherwood), and seconded (multiple). During discussion, a friendly amendment was made (de la Cruz) to change the resolution to remove the \$5M tax levy and instead consider the 3 options available by the State of Connecticut, listed as A, B or C, as provided by CGS §7-361, but did not receive a second; instead, Rep. Sherwood stated it would be cleaner to leave the amendment as it is.

The motion to amend the draft resolution to include the proposed language submitted by Rep. Sherwood passed via roll call vote of 20-7-1 (Reps. Adams, Boeger, Campbell, Camporeale, de la Cruz, Figueroa, Graham, Kuczynski, Matheny, Moore, Pavia, Pierre-Louis, Roqueta, Saftic, Sherwood, Stella, Strain, Walston, Weinberg and Williams in favor; Reps. Fedeli, Goldberg, Ley, Mays, Morson, Pollack, and Watkins against; Rep. Cottrell abstained and Reps. Grunberger, Patterson, and Summerville did not vote).

The motion to approve the resolution was already on the floor; it was now voted to approve the resolution as amended, and approved via roll call vote of 23-8-0 (Reps. Adams, Boeger, Campbell, Camporeale, Cottrell, de la Cruz, Figueroa, Graham, Kuczynski, Matheny, Moore, Patterson, Pavia, Pierre-Louis, Roqueta, Saftic, Sherwood, Stella, Strain, Summerville, Walston, Weinberg and Williams approved; Reps. Fedeli, Goldberg, Grunberger, Ley, Mays, Morson, Pollack and Watkins against).

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>: Chair Sherwood called for a motion to adjourn at 9:46 p.m. which was made, seconded, and passed via unanimous voice vote.

This meeting is available on video.