SENSE OF THE BOARD RESOLUTION HONORING NORMA AND MILTON MANN ON BEING AWARDED THE 2015 JHS HERITAGE AWARD BY THE JEWISH HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF FAIRFIELD COUNTY

WHEREAS, on June 7, 2015, the Jewish Historical Society of Fairfield County ("JHSFC") will be holding a celebration marking its 30th Anniversary and honoring Norma and Milton Mann with its 2015 JHS Heritage Award; and

WHEREAS, for more than 60 years, Norma Mann, who passed away in 2012, and Milton Mann demonstrated their unwavering commitment to the Jewish community and the Stamford community with their talents, leadership and resources; and

WHEREAS, Norma Mann served as Sisterhood President of Temple Beth El, the first woman on Temple Beth El's Board of Directors, the first woman President of the United Jewish Federation in Stamford, and on the regional level in the Conservative movement as branch President and Milton Mann served as the President of Temple Beth El; and

WHEREAS, both Norma and Milton Mann were important leaders in the University of Connecticut Judaic Studies program and Jewish Family Services and served on the Jewish Historical Society board of directors; and

WHEREAS, Milton Mann held leadership roles throughout Stamford as PTA president; a long-time member of the Stamford Hospital Finance Committee and supporter of some key Stamford Hospital programs, a supporter of a number of art organizations including the Stamford Center for the Arts and Curtain Call; and educational initiatives such as the Young Mariners sailing program; and

WHEREAS, both Norma and Milton Mann devoted themselves to causes which benefit the needy, supporting St. Luke's Community Services for decades and Milton Mann worked tirelessly to bring affordable housing to Stamford; and

WHEREAS, Norma and Milton Mann's legacy endures through the quality of their many wideranging good works and achievements.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the 29th Board of Representatives honors Norma and Milton Mann for their contributions to the Stamford community and their receipt of the 2015 JHS Heritage Award.

Approved by the 29th Board of Representatives this 6th day of May, 2015

Randall M. Skigen, President	Annie M. Summerville, Clerk